Filling The Well

The three hallows is a new concept to me, but one that I have fully embraced. As a pseudo-Hedgewitch and a self-described kitchen alchemist, the cauldron has always been sacred to me. So naturally, when choosing a well, I went with what symbolically made sense for my hearth.

Today my well arrived. And the moment I saw it, held it in my hands, I knew this item was meant to be mine. Have you ever experienced that? It’s humbling and reassuring.

The bottom of my well.

The bottom of my well.

Filled with water and a few rosemary flowers.

Filled with water and a few rosemary flowers.

So after some heated discussion amongst my kin at ADF, I went outside and lit candles and incense. I poured water into my well and sprinkled it with flowers from my Lockwood de Forest rosemary. And I just sat there; feeling the breeze, listening to the birds, smelling the rain on fresh cut grass and mossy flower beds. When I slipped into a trance it wasn’t by intention.

My more-complete altar; still a work in progress.

My more-complete altar; still a work in progress.

5 thoughts on “Filling The Well

  1. Beautiful! I make pottery for a living myself, and have been meaning to make a few cauldrons like yours pictured here. The pictures inspire me to follow through and do it. Thanks for sharing it!

  2. Pingback: May Your Fires Burn Bright – Beltane Ritual | The Ballad of Eira Silversage

Leave a Reply

